May 09, 2024


Media House Express was honored to attend the prestigious 2024 NICK JOAQUIN LITERARY AWARDS NIGHT (NJLA), held this May at the SAMSUNG HALL of SM AURA PREMIER in Taguig City.

As the evening unfolded with grandeur, the event paid homage to the exceptional talents of short story writers and poets. Named after the illustrious National Artist for Literature and former editor-in-chief of the Philippines Graphic, Nick Joaquin, the NJLA served as a platform to celebrate the creative brilliance of Filipino literary artisans whose works grace the pages of the Philippines Graphic Reader.

Here's a glimpse of the luminaries who led the charge at NJLA 2024:

National Artists Leading the Way:

Benedicto Reyes Cabrera, also known as “BenCab,” (National Artist for the Visual Arts)

Gemino Abad (National Artist for Literature)

Ricky Lee (National Artist for Literature)

NJLA 2024 recognized 82 outstanding short fictionists and poets as Graphic Salute Awardees. Their contributions to the literary landscape, showcased within the Philippines Graphic Reader's 2nd cycle from February 2023 to January 2024, were honored with the NJLA Graphic Salute Award.

The selection process was carried out with precision. From the works of the 82 writers, NJLA judges meticulously curated the top three short story winners and crowned the Poet of the Year. Guiding this process were esteemed figures such as:

Jose “Butch” Dalisay, chair of the NJLA 2024 Board of Judges, renowned for his prowess as a short story writer, novelist, essayist, and academician.

Marra PL. Lanot, a distinguished tri-lingual editor at Graphic Reader

Susan Lara, a highly acclaimed fictionist.

Another notable figure in attendance at the prestigious awards night was ALC Group of Companies Chairman D. Edgard Cabangon Chua, recognized for his outstanding leadership and hailed as Asia's Influential and Exemplary Leader in Business last February 16, 2024, at Okada Manila.

Winners of the NJLA 2024:

1. Rosario Garcellano for “The Heart Wants What It Wants” (Philippines Graphic Reader, July 2023)

2. Criselda Yabes “Near Paradise”  (Philippines Graphic Reader, March 2023)

3. Yvette Tan “Horror Vacui” (Philippines Graphic Reader, June 2023)

The POET OF THE YEAR Award goes to F. Jordan Carnice, “Two Poems for 2023” (Philippines Graphic Reader, September 2023)

NJLA 2024 also celebrated visual artistry and talent. An enchanting exhibit showcased the 12 captivating covers of the Philippines Graphic Reader, brought to life by talented illustrators Randy Constantino and Ardie Aquino. Complementing these visual marvels were the interior illustrations crafted by renowned visual artist, Jimbo Albano.

To all the luminaries adorned with the laurels of NJLA 2024, our heartfelt congratulations resound, echoing the indelible mark on the rich tapestry of Philippine literature! 

Photo credits: ALC Group of Companies Chairman D.Edgard Cabangon Chua / Asia's Influential and Exemplary Leader in Business

Share this post: